My Acoustic Guitar

Below is my cover of Quiet by This Will Destroy You. Interestingly enough, I don’t even have an electric guitar (I just make it sound as if I’m using one through editing and effects). I used my old and broken-down acoustic guitar. Many times I have said that the fact it is old and broken-down is actually what adds to the beauty of its sound. It has experiences, memories, wisdom.

When the only tool you have is a hammer, treat everything as if it is a nail. Not having resources force me to be creative and imaginative. Much like the crew of Apollo 13, you gotta work with what you have. The cards have been dealt but it’s up to us to play them right.

My Classical Acoustic Guitar

Above is a photo of the guitar I used. It’s been with me since I was in grade 6. I remember buying it from Lyric in Alabang Town Center back when it was at by the stairs going down to Makati Supermarket, that same wing where the new Lyric is in front of JB music store. It’s actually the same place where I got guitar lessons. Had I chosen not to take guitar lessons that year, my whole life would have been totally different.

The top two strings are actually both E strings that’s why I tuned a few steps down as to avoid breaking the string. The missing D string can’t be replaced because the tuning peg for that is missing as well so there’ll be no place to put the string.

I actually somehow want it to be restored. Revarnished and all, the works. Also, there’s a part of me that just wants to have the D string tuning peg replaced because having it restored and having many parts replaced might make it lose its essence? I don’t know. I does remind me of The Ship of Theseus paradox. If I keep on having the parts of my guitar replaced until eventually all parts have been replaced, is it still the same guitar? At what point should the loss of essence be considered? How many parts should be replaced until I can say that it’s no longer the guitar I used to have?

Post-rock is so lovely especially when you have a hangover. As portrayed in the Keynes vs Hayek rap: we brought out the shovels and we’re still in a ditch and still digging. Don’t you think it’s time for a switch from that hair of the dog?


If you liked this post then you might also like:
1. Keynes vs Hayek Rap
2. Awake 2012 TV Show Review 
3. Your Own Orchestra at the Tip of Your Fingers

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a comment