Get Him to the Greek

There’s a part of me that feels I have been drawn to this movie more than anything.

I remember American Idol judge Simon Cowell would sometimes comment to aspiring contestants that their singing was self-indulgent—that it is more a self thing than something that could be marketable. It was something that made me change the way I wrote. There was a time when I felt I had to stop writing for myself and start writing for others.

And just as Antoine Roquentin’s high regard for writing, I feel that perhaps this is why I am writing right now. I am writing because I see its importance. And now I feel that sometimes, if not many times, I should also write for myself again. It allows me to be reflective. It allows me to asses the person I have become. And it is a very scary thing to asses one’s self. But it allows for reflection. It allows for growth and betterment.

I have always been interested in the analysis of how people interact; in sociology or politics. And many times I feel that I shy away from the many things I have learned or believe in. Many times I fear learning more because it is true that ignorance is bliss.

As you may have discovered, this post will have almost absolutely nothing to do with the movie Get Him to the Greek. I want to write about it but I can’t.

Leave a Reply

