The TV Renaissance

What is up with TV nowadays?

Lost, House, Heroes, Prison Break, The Office, 30 Rock

Those were just some of the shows of that era. An era I would refer to as the TV Renaissance or probably even TV’s Age of Enlightenment. No matter what you call it, it all just means that those were the glory days of TV.

And now we don’t even have Conan O’Brien anymore. It is as if there’s really nothing left on TV but vampires and musicals. I am even surprised that they have not started making a musical about vampires (that would surely be a hit).

Don’t get me wrong. I am sure there is a lot of talent and artistry involved in making TV shows like that. My only real point is that it’s just not quite the same. Nowadays, The Office isn’t about selling paper anymore, House is out of character, and most of the other shows had disappointing endings. Maybe it is all my fault for having too much expectations.

You might think it is surprising but I haven’t watched the season ender of Lost. This is because I never want to know how it ends or perhaps I don’t want it to end at all. I do not want to be disappointed. And most of all, I refuse to accept the idea that there is life after Lost.

I am writing this now because my girlfriend made me read a fan fiction story about The Office’s Ryan and Pam. It reminded me of what a really good show it was and of how sucky it has become.

Of course, this is all out of personal preference. I do enjoy How I met your Mother and other recent TV shows from time to time. But hey, it’s just not the same. Just my two cents.


If you liked this post then you might also like:

1. How to use Autotune to get the T-pain vocal effect
2. Philippine Airlines Hong Kong Promo

Leave a Reply

