How to Assemble Charcoal Grill

I haven’t blogged in so long. It is really a shame that I haven’t had time to do so. I am reminded of Jean-Paul Sartre‘s Nausea where, in the first part (the undated pages), the character Antoine Roquentin talks about the importance of writing in a journal and documenting your life in writing. Well, if he only had a blog then, I’m sure he would have talked about the importance of photographs and videos as well.

And so I decide to write about something as mundane as assembling a charcoal grill. It is uninteresting and seemingly irrelevant. Have I decided not to blog about it, this event would have just been forgotten in a few days, buried deep in the abyss of my memories, into nothingness. But I did put my heart and soul in its assembly. For a moment, it was my duty and purpose to make sure its parts and pieces come together in harmony and become capable of producing satisfying grilled food.

There is a lot of physical labor involved in it and at the same time a bit of critical thinking in deciphering the poorly made instruction manual. All in all, there is something about physical labor that is absolutely fulfilling. To see the charcoal grill stand up, ready to be used, all because of my hands, my thoughts and actions, is truly rewarding.

In this context, I, the laborer, am not alienated or separated from what I produce. My decision to assemble the charcoal grill was almost entirely voluntary. And now, every time there is grilled food in the house, I would be able to proudly say that it could not have been possible without my contribution.

There really have been a lot of things going on in my life that I haven’t blogged about. Perhaps, if you already are my Facebook friend then you would be updated with what has been going on. Mandatory work has been preventing me from doing and learning so much but it is a good thing that the weekends have given me a lot of time to catch up on friends, learnings, and sleep.

There is so much I have to do and at the same time so much that I want to do. In a while I am tasked to bring my new camcorder to this family charity thing where relatives of mine will be giving food, I think, to disabled children or something like that. At least it would be I great way of getting test shots of my new lovely camcorder. I will most likely post it here soon.


If you liked this post then you might also like:

1. Recipe for Lamb Chops

2. Shakeys Delivery Philippines

3. Food from the Philippines that Foreigners might consider Disgusting

4. CHEAP MACBOOK PRO LAPTOP PHILIPPINES!

Leave a Reply

